WG meeting 2011 in Göttingen, Germany

This meeting was held 4-6 October 2011 at the Georg August Universität, Göttingen, Germany. The meeting was very friendly and incredibly well organized by Bernd Ulber and Birger Koopmann. A great many thanks to them and their enthusiastic team for all of their hard work and warm hospitality! The meeting was attended by 85 participants from 19 countries. There were 17 entomology, 14 pathology and 6 joint oral presentations and a further 24 presentations in an excellent poster session.

Returning to previous convention, there were separate entomology and pathology sessions but we all got together for joint sessions, mingled during breaks and enjoyed an extremely interesting city tour and delicious Italian meal together. We were very pleased to have in attendance Barbara Ekbom, the previous IOBC liaison officer for this group and Lene Sigsgaard, the current Liason officer. Thanks to Lene for her active participation! She presented information about the IOBC and highlighted the many benefits of being a member. She also produced a very positive report on our meeting.

During the meeting Birger Koopmann announced that he would be stepping down as convenor of the group at the end of his term in 2013. He hoped that this early announcement would give ample time for candidates to consider this role. Nominations are open and should be submitted to both Birger and me (bkoopma@gwdg.de; sam.cook@rothamsted.ac.uk). Please send this Email also in copy to Lene Sigsgaard (les@life.ku.dk). Three candidates are already nominated: Dr. Malgorzata Jedryczka form IGR-PAS, Poznan, Poland; Dr. Neal Evans formerly RRes now WIN Incorporate and Dr. Xavier Pinochet, CETIOM, France. The election will take place at the next meeting. It was agreed that Sam Cook would maintain her role as co-convenor to provide the group with some continuity during this period. Michael Eickermann proposed Centre de Recherche Public - Gabriel Lippmann, Luxembourg as the venue for the next meeting. This was unanimously accepted by the IOBC members present. Provisional date: 8-10 October 2013. Further updates on this available from the group website. This site was highlighted by Birger during the meeting and contains links to announcements and news. The site is underexploited at the moment yet represents a great forum for knowledge exchange and communications within the oilseeds WG community. Please email Birger with any news and announcements you have (thesis completed, new paper published, new of funding opportunities, queries & questions etc) and Birger will email the WG distribution list whenever the site is updated.

See you in Luxembourg!

Sam Cook

Participants of the meeting

IOBC ICOC WG meeting 2011 Click on images to enlarge in a separate tab

No. Name Institution
1 Siebold, Magdalena Georg-August-University, Göttingen, Germany
2 Abdel-Rahma, Mohamed A. A. Egypt
3 Penaud, Annette CETIOM, Grignon, France
4 Ulber, Bernd Georg-August-University, Göttingen, Germany
5 Cook, Sam Rothamsted Research, Harpenden, UK
6 Koopmann, Birger Georg-August-University, Göttingen, Germany
7 Lopisso, Daniel Georg-August-University, Göttingen, Germany
8 Huang, Youngju University of Hertforshire, UK
9 Shu, Deng IGR-PAZ, Poznan, Poland
10 Hearn, Kathryn Syngenta Crop Protection, Cambridge, UK
11 Stahlmann, Helge Georg-August-University, Göttingen, Germany
12 Wulf, Tobias Pioneer-Hibred, Tüttendorf, Germany
13 Höch, Kerstin Georg-August-University, Göttingen, Germany
14 Weigand, Susanne Georg-August-University, Göttingen, Germany
15 Racca, Paolo ZEPP; Bad Kreuznach, Germany
16 Jedryczka, Malgorzata IGR-PAS, Poznan, Poland
17 Eken, Cafer Ardahan University, Turkey
18 Reinhardt, Antje Georg-August-University, Göttingen, Germany
19 Diedrichsen, Elke Frei Universität Berlin, Germany
20 Vallentin-Murison, Muriel INRA-Agro Paris Tech, Thiveral-Grignon, France
21 Daniel, Claudia FIBL, Frick, Switzerland
22 Ekbom, Barbara SLU, Uppsala, Sweden
23 O´Rourke, Erin University College Cork, Ireland
24 Brandes, Haiko Georg-August-University, Göttingen, Germany
25 Gloyna, Kai BTL Biotest Labor GmbH, Sagerheide, Germany
26 Ludwig, Tobias JKI, Kleinmachnow, Germany
27 Onaga, Geoffrey Georg-August-University, Göttingen, Germany
28 Gertz, Andreas KWS, Einbeck, Germany
29 von Tiedemann, Andreas Georg-August-University, Göttingen, Germany
30 Leis, Günter Limagrain, Verneuil l´Etang, France
31 Young, Caroline ADAS UK Ltd, Warwickshire, UK
32 Eickermann, Michael Centre de la Recherche Public, Gabriel Lippmann, Bulvaux, Luxembourg
33 Kreye, Holger Chamber of Agriculture, Lower Saxony, Braunschweig, Germany
34 Parker, Steven Syngenta Crop Protection, Cambridge, UK
35 Evans, Neal Wheather Innovations Incorporated, Stewkley, UK
36 Winter, Mark Georg-August-University, Göttingen, Germany
37 Keunecke, Harald KWS, Einbeck, Germany
38 Frank, Thomas University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna, Austria
39 Klukowski, Zdzislaw Wroclaw University of Environmental and Life Sciences, Poland
40 Veromann, Eve Estonia University of Life Sciences, Tartu, Estonia
41 Büchs, Wolfgang JKI, Braunschweig, Germany
42 Volk, Thomas proPlant, Münster, Germany
43 Hennies, Henrike Georg-August-University, Göttingen, Germany
44 Buuk, Christoph BTL Biotest Labor GmbH, Sagerheide, Germany
45 Kovacs, Gabriella Estonia University of Life Sciences, Tartu, Estonia
46 Kaasik, Riina Estonia University of Life Sciences, Tartu, Estonia
47 Herda, Gerhard Union of Oilseeds Growers and Processors, Prague, Czech Republic
48 Ferguson, Andrew Rothamsted Research, Harpenden, UK
49 Döring, Alexander Georg-August-University, Göttingen, Germany
50 Straka, Josef Lund University, Sweden
51 Kuske, Stefan Agroscope, Zurich, Switzerland
52 Lüders, Wolfgang JKI, Quedlinburg, Germany
53 Meijers, Johan SLU, Uppsala, Sweden
54 Mathiasen, Helle University of Copenhagen, Frederiksberg, Denmark
55 Ester, Albert Leystad, The Netherlands
56 Henze, Matthias Spiess-Urania; Hamburg, Germany
57 Grzesiek, Jerzy Syngenta Crop Protection, Warsaw, Poland
58 Block, Torsten Syngenta Agro, Maintal, Germany
59 Robert, Celine CETIOM, Thiverval-Grignon, France
60 Lerenius, Cecilia Swedish Board of Agriculture, Skara, Sweden
61 Knüfer, Jessica Georg-August-University, Göttingen, Germany
62 Tschöpe, Beate ZEPP, Bad Kreuznach, Germany
63 Dugravot, Sébastien University of Rennes, France
64 Hervé, Maxime INRA, University of Rennes, France
Participants not on the photo
65 Becker, Heiko Georg-August-University, Göttingen, Germany
66 Bormann, Inga University of Halle-Wittenberg, Halle, Germany
67 Comberg, Christian Georg-August-University, Göttingen, Germany
68 Heitefuß, Rudolf Georg-August-University, Göttingen, Germany
69 Kaiser, Caroline University of Halle-Wittenberg, Halle, Germany
70 Müller, Andreas JKI, Braunschweig, Germany
71 Sigsgaard, Lene University of Copenhagen, Frederiksberg, Denmark
72 Specht, Manuela UFOP, Berlin, Germany
73 Schlang, Norbert Du Pont de Nemours, Neu-Isenburg, Germany
74 Volkmar, Christa University of Halle-Wittenberg, Halle, Germany
75 Aroud, Husam Georg-August-University, Göttingen, Germany
76 Beduschi, Tatiane